ARTIS pheno

ID Study / theme for the design

Ideation / Industrial Design process
To begin with, using design data at-design worked out various “themes” for several Industrial Designs in the form of sketches. The base of the robot was chosen to “carry” the theme. All of the other components, such as the swinging arm, boom, cable accumulator and C-arms (including detectors and tube cover) etc. would continue the theme.

ID Study / ID model construction

ID Study / graphical elaboration

at-design took engineering requirements into account during the design process, as well as the most important aspects of medical engineering such as hygiene, safety and usability.

First of all, guiding sketches – or “themes” for the design – were analysed internally for feasibility using rough CAD data and models. After examining the initial ideas, the rough CAD models provided a basis from which to elaborate the Industrial Design studies using drawings.

Later in the course of the project, the selected ID study was refined and modified in an ID conceptual phase using CAD. Updated design data provided the basis for this. At this point in time, at-design performed all design and development activities work using CAD.

ID Study / rough ID CAD data

Industrial Design of ARTIS pheno
The clean-cut structure of the system is characteristic of the Industrial Design of Artis pheno by at-design. The housing and colour concept on certain covers developed by at-design also highlight the most important functions and make the system easier to comprehend. The complexity is reduced by means of simplicity and logic.

Simple and logical illuminated edges, as well as separations between parts of the housing and spanned surfaces typify the Product Design and allow the most important aspects of medicine, namely hygiene, safety and usability, to be implemented. Artis pheno represents an optimal symbiosis between functionality and Industrial Design in a medical environment and keeps the focus on the person.

ID Conceptual Phase, ID Detailing Phase, Realisation Support / drafting and elaboration in CAD

Hygiene

at-design’s housing concept meets the high hygiene requirements thanks to the following features:
+ Housing design based on “logical simplicity”
+ Maximum reduction of housing parts
+ Maximum reduction of visible housing screw fittings
+ Maximum reduction of (visible) housing separations
+ Housing edges and separations that extend to the floor
+ Spanned surfaces

Siemens Healthcare GmbH also coated ARTIS pheno with an anti-microbial finish. This facilitated passive infection control and makes regular cleaning and disinfection easier.

Safety
The shortage of space in operating theatres sets high safety requirements for Artis pheno. Users and patients must be protected against possible collisions and injuries. The Industrial Design supports the following aspects of system safety:
+ Housing design based on “logical simplicity”
+ Maximum volume reduction
+ Sensible and soft housing edges
+ Spanned surfaces

Siemens Healthcare GmbH also added visible collision detectors positioned underneath the housing.

 

Usability (assembly)
The system is principally assembled on site in the operating theatre. Artis pheno can be installed by just one person. Easily removable housing components grant quick access for servicing.
The following design aspects make this possible:
+ Simple housing assembly
+ Maximum reduction of housing parts
+ Maximum reduction of housing screw fittings
+ Use of snap locks

Product photos: Copyright Siemens Healthcare GmbH

We look forward to your call:
+49 (0)911-239808

Or a message:
info@atdesign.de

ARTIS pheno

ID Studie / „Motiv“ für die Gestaltung

Ideation / Industrial Design Prozess
Zunächst arbeitete at-design auf Basis von Konstruktionsdaten, skizzenhaft verschiedenste „Motive“ für mehrere Industrial Design heraus. Als „Motivträger“ wurde die Basis des Roboters festgelegt. Alle weiteren Baugruppen, wie Schwinge, Ausleger, Kabelspeicher und C-Bogen (inklusive Detektor und Röhrencover) etc., sollten das Motiv weitertragen oder sich „unterordnen“.

ID Studie / ID Modellbau

ID Studie / zeichnerische Ausarbeitung

at-design berücksichtigte in der Entwurfsarbeit konstruktive Anforderungen, sowie die wichtigsten Aspekte der Medizintechnik, wie Hygiene, Safety und Usability.

Zunächst wurden richtungsweisende Skizzen, „Motive“ für die Gestaltung intern anhand von ersten groben CAD-Daten und Modellen auf Herstellbarkeit untersucht. Nach Prüfung der ersten Ideen, dienten die groben CAD-Modelle als Grundlage für die zeichnerische Ausarbeitung der Industrial Design Studien.

Im weiteren Projektverlauf wurde die ausgewählte ID-Studie in einer ID Konzeptphase im CAD verfeinert und variiert. Aktualisierte Konstruktionsdaten dienten als Grundlage dafür. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt erfolgte die Entwurfs- und Entwicklungstätigkeit bei at-design ausschließlich am CAD.

ID Studie / grobe ID CAD-Daten

Industrial Design “Artis pheno“
Charakteristisch für das Industrial Design des Artis pheno von at-design ist die klare Strukturierung des Systems. Gezieltes „Covern“ aber auch hervorheben entscheidender Funktionen durch das Gehäuse- und Farb-Konzept von at-design, macht das System begreifbar. Reduktion der Komplexität durch Simplizität und Logik.

Einfache, logisch verlaufende Lichtkanten, sowie Gehäusetrennungen und überspannte Oberflächen  prägen das Produktdesign und ermöglichen die Umsetzung wichtigster medizinischer Aspekte im Bereich „Hygiene“, „Safety“ und „Usability“. Artis pheno stellt eine bestmögliche Symbiose zwischen Funktionalität und Industrial-Design im medizinischen Umfeld dar und setzt den Menschen in den Mittelpunkt.

ID Konzeptphase , ID Detailierungsphase , Realization Support / Entwurf und Ausarbeitung im CAD

Hygiene
Den hohen hygienischen Anforderungen wird das Gehäusekonzept von at-design durch folgende Punkte gerecht:
+ Gehäusedesign durch „Logic Simplicity“
+ maximale Reduktion der Gehäuseteile
+ maximale Reduktion der sichtbaren Gehäuseverschraubungen
+ maximale Reduktion der (sichtbaren) Gehäusetrennungen
+ zum Boden laufende Gehäusekanten und Gehäusetrennungen
+ überspannte Oberflächen

Zusätzlich stattete die Siemens Healthcare GmbH ARTIS pheno mit einer anti-mikrobiellen Lackierung aus. Sie ermöglicht eine passive Infektionskontrolle und unterstütz reguläres Reinigen und Desinfizieren.

Safety
Der Platzmangel in Operationsräumen setzt hohe Sicherheitsanforderungen an Artis pheno. Anwender und Patient müssen vor möglichen Kollisionen und Verletzungen geschützt werden. Das Industrial Design unterstützt durch folgende Aspekte die Sicherheit des Systems:
+ Gehäusedesign durch „Logic Simplicity“
+ maximale Volumenreduktion
+ sinnvoll weich verlaufende Gehäusekanten
+ überspannte Oberflächen

Die Siemens Healthcare GmbH setzte zudem sichtbare, sowie unter dem Gehäuse befindliche Kollisionsdetektoren um.

 

Usability (Assembly)
Der Aufbau des Systems erfolgt im Wesentlichen vor Ort im Operationsraum. Artis pheno kann von nur einer Person installiert werden. Im Service-Falle ermöglichen einfach abnehmbare Gehäuseteile schnellen Zugriff. Folgende Punkte in der Gestaltung machen das möglich:
+ kein fraktal angeordneter Gehäusezusammenbau
+ maximale Reduktion der Gehäuseteile
+ maximale Reduktion von Gehäuseverschraubungen
+ der Einsatz von Snap-Locks

Produktfotos : copyright Siemens Healthcare GmbH

Wir freuen uns über Ihren Anruf :
+49 (0)911-239808-0

Oder eine Nachricht an:
info@atdesign.de